My BLH Articles

I started writing for BeerLeagueHeroes.com about six months ago, joining the esteemed Walter Foddis in the BLH ‘fancystats’ department.  BLH is perhaps not as high profile as a few other sites, but I like their fun and low-pressure approach, and it’s a good group to hang out with.

I intended at the time to follow a process whereby each time I wrote a BLH article, I’d also do a stub article here at NerdAlert pointing to the BLH article. I’m sure there’s a hefty overlap in readership, but probably not 100%.

I had the best of intentions, really I did! *sigh*

In reality, I think I managed to do that … um let me think … oh yeah, once.

You can imagine that being a stats-oriented guy, I don’t usually write ‘opinion’ pieces … for me, writing an article is often preceeded by many hours of analytical work (much of which it turns out produces uninteresting results and so never gets to the article stage).

Then when I actually write a first draft, I’ll usually edit between five and ten revisions before I’m happy. So when I finally hit that Publish button, it’s the end of a long involved process, and I guess it’s not surprising that going back and writing a companion article, even a tiny one, just doesn’t thrill me.

But still.  I should be doing this.

So … I figure I’ll tackle it all at once by doing a reprise of all the BLH articles I’ve written to date.  If you haven’t seen them before, hopefully you’ll find something interesting here. (Note: I’m leaving out game previews and summaries, focusing only on articles)

In reverse chronological order, here they are …


October 8, 2016 – Breaking news! The Oilers added another leftie!  Will Kris Russell Help? – a fancy stats oriented look at the newest Oiler.  There’s good.  There’s bad.


September 23, 2016 – An offhanded look at wingers and hands – one of the very first looks you’ll find assessing the effectiveness of off-handed wingers (left shot right wingers or right shot left wingers). At least one of the conclusions is a little surprising, and there’s some good data on where off handed wingers come from and which teams use them. (Hint: STL led the league in off handed right wingers, and that was *before* they got Yak!)


August 2, 2016 – Scoring Help for the Bottom Six on Its way? – a fancystats look at Brandon Pirri, who the Oilers were rumoured to be interested in signing (until the Rangers grabbed him).  Still wish we’d got this guy.


August 1, 2016 – Is Antoine Vermette a fit for the Oilers? – a fancystats look at Antoine Vermette, who became available after a buyout by the Desert Dogs


The next article is a two parter, published on July 18, 2016. These are the background articles for the release of WoodMoney, the matchup-based quality of competition metrics developed by @Woodguy55 and I.


July 15, 2016 – The Schedule – Another Reason for Oilers Fans to be Annoyed – remember how last years Oiler schedule had them playing more games earlier than almost anyone else? I compare last year and this years schedule. It’s better – but it’s not good.


May 27, 2016 – Team Canada: Wait … what? – my rather sarcastic commentary on the Team Canada and Team US roster selection process.


April 16, 2016 – Shot Attempts and “Crucial Habits” or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Dump and Chase – a look back at the Oilers season, touching on fancystats, systems, and the role of the defense


March 20, 2016 – The Scourge of the Goalposts – in which I answer the hockey, nay life!, question that is probably foremost in your mind: which team hits the most goalposts?


March 14, 2016 – Analog Kid vs Digital Man – a philosophical look at hockey fancystats, and the people who love (and hate) them


March 7, 2016 – The Curious Case of Leon Draisaitl – my first BLH article, where I tested the idea that Leon Draisaitl was fatigued late in the season

Leave a Reply

